The Assignment Has Arrived!

2014-12-11 The Assignment

The assignment has arrived.  We have received a call to open a new mission in the state of Washington, in a place called Yakima!  We’ll begin our mission there on or about the first of July 2015.

Isn’t it so interesting how the contents of one thin envelope can change the entire course of your life?  And isn’t it fun how unpredictable the paths of our lives can be?  Wow.  Yakima Washington.  From what I can tell so far, it sounds very much like the place where I grew up in the San Joaquin Valley in California–vineyards and orchards and farm land.  I will feel right at home there.

It’s been an interesting week as we’ve considered this new assignment and what it will mean for our family.  The envelope arrived a week ago and we were asked not to share the contents until today.  So many thoughts have been streaming through my mind.  Things like wow, we’ll have clean water and hot showers and a Costco nearby and paved roads and we will understand the language and John will have access to Mexican food!  And best of all, our children will only be 10 hours away from us and can come to us when they need us.  It’s hard to leave three children who are launching.  We will not be far away.

Another thing I’m feeling is that it will be easy to focus on our assignment to help and bless the lives of all the missionaries who will be sent our way.  No matter where in the world our missions take us, the work is the same–we are commissioned by Jesus Christ to bring his children home to Him.  What a thrilling full-time assignment!

We don’t know anything yet about where exactly our mission boundaries will be.  It will be fun to learn that as those things are decided.  In the meantime, I’m figuring out ways to wrap up the projects and activities I’m involved in here.  I can’t wait to introduce everyone to those who will step in and help with my Days for Girls work–we’ve spent the week restructuring our organization so the work will carry on in even better ways.  I won’t be teaching my Family History Class next semester, but will take my materials with me.  Maybe there will be opportunities to do some teaching in Washington.  These parts of my life are not easy to step away from.  I keep telling myself, I’m only a phone call or email away.  I will still help as I am able.

So there you have it.  We know where we’ll be spending the next 3 years of our lives.  I am excited and grateful for this opportunity.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Lewis Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

