Yakima Zone Interviews

2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (6)Here we are today at the Yakima Stake Center for another fabulous day of interviewing fabulous missionaries.  It was rainy and even snowed a bit, but I was warm and well fed as I listened to each missionary tell me about their experiences here and what they are learning. 2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (11)Elder Krogue and Elder Wilkey are our Yakima Zone Leaders.  They each have a companion they are training, so they live together as a foursome, but they work with different companions.  I say to each of these four, “Lucky You!”2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (1)Elder Krogue is highlighting every mention of Christ in his Book of Mormon:  “Every page in the Book of Mormon refers to Jesus Christ.  It blows my mind.”

Elder Wilkey:  Everything denotes or is evidence that there is a God” and “It all comes down to understanding the Atonement.”

Elder Johnson:  “What if love were our only motive?  Love is one of the most powerful forces in existence.”   “I really hope we never look fake because we have something really awesome!”   “I don’t do much.  I just talk.  The Spirit does all the work.”   “Elder Krogue is Really Good with people.  I mean REALLY GOOD.”

Elder Dalton:  “I have an overwhelming amount of love for everyone here.”  “I can’t wait to read my scriptures every day.”   “I want to make my family proud.”2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (7)We are not known for staying on schedule, but we try.  Usually we fail miserably, but today we were done by 4:30.  We haven’t been home before dark in weeks.
2015-11-19 Schedule
Elder Ranta:  “I love feeling love for others, Godly emotions towards Heavenly Father’s children.”  “I love my mom.”2015-11-19  Yakima Zone 1
Elder Bee:  “My favorite favorite thing is to bear my testimony.  I love seeing something click in someone else’s life.”2015-11-19  Yakima ZoneElder Christensen’s favorite part of missionary work:  “All of it!  This is the Best Adventure Ever!”

Elder Hansen:  “I like being in an awkward situation because it’s a rush–I have to figure out what to do.  Then we laugh about it later.”
2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (9)Elder Petersen:  “I love my mission.  There were three times just yesterday when I knew I was in the right place at the right time!”

Elder Brinkerhoff:  “Every day is so intense.  I’m having such a good time.  It’s the best thing I could be doing right now.”2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (10)Elder Beatty:  “The Mission is just like life now. It’s been life since almost day 3.  I love having a lot on my plate.”

Elder Camit:  “I love getting referrals.  And I love breakfast!”2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (16)Elder Burbank:  “I love studying the prophets in the Book of Mormon to see how they taught the people.  I read about Abinadi this week and how he only converted one person, then was asked to deny what he believed or be put to death.  I had to ask myself, ‘what would I have done?’ and I realized that like Abinadi, I would give my life for my testimony.”

Elder Bird:  “I really enjoy talking to people.  I am observing that quiet and meek missionaries are usually the most joyful.”  When I asked him to describe his missionary experience so far (3 weeks) he said, “Fantastic, Joyful and Delicious.”2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (17)

These two aren’t in this Zone, but traveled up (through a perilous blizzard) from the Dalles today.  Elder Criddle from Las Vegas was “freaked out” by the snow.  He’s never driven in it before.  The pass was closed this afternoon, so they spent the night in Zillah with the Elders there.2015-11-19 Yakima Zone  (5)Here are some great quotes Elder Beatty shared with me:2015-11-19 Yakima Zone Mom Notes (13)2015-11-19 Yakima Zone Mom Notes (14)Again, I am so grateful to learn from each of our missionaries.  I am loving what they each share with me about their personal study and the insights that are coming to them as they put their hearts and minds into their missionary work.  Every day is a feast.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yakima Zone Interviews

  1. Karen Long says:

    A perilous blizzard? Should I be worried or is that Elder Criddle’s perception of what in reality is a light dusting of snow? Living in Las Vegas, I could completely understand! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, pretty perilous. I’m sure he’ll tell you about it! They made it to Yakima yesterday for a Dr apt, then spent the night in Zillah because the pass was closed. The photos Elder Criddle showed us looked like a white-out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

