Cody Johnson opens his mission call!

2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (62)We all made our guesses about where Cody will be heading and at 4:00 it was time to find out.  We’ve all been there.  It’s an exciting moment in life that will change everything from here on out!   Cody’s dad and mom and grandparents and other family members came with lots of food and lots of excitement.2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (65)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (66)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (71)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (73)His grandpa serves as the Columbia River Temple President, his grandma is the Temple Matron.2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (75)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (77)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (79)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (80)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (81)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (83)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (84)Before he opened the letter, we sang a rousing rendition of “Called to Serve.”2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (88)2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (91)And then the moment arrived and the big white envelope was opened.2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (94)“You are hereby called to serve in . . . oh my. . . what??”   “Mozambique!!”  Africa!!  You know I was THRILLED.  Everyone was.2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (97)You’ll see our guesses below.  I guessed Zambia, right next door, and Elder Moser, who was his companion last transfer, guessed South Africa, which was where I served as a missionary.  We are all So Very Happy to send this fantastic missionary to Africa!2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (98)He’ll report to the Provo MTC in October, where he’ll learn to speak Portuguese.  It was a great day in Sunnyside!2016-6-27 Coby Johnson's mission call (100)

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work, Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cody Johnson opens his mission call!

  1. Sad lady says:

    Why is there no picture of the most important woman in his life. The woman who birthed him but only the Johnsons. I would be terribly hurt if I was his mom. Smh

    Like

    • What a wonderful mom Cody has! I went to take photos of our missionaries, not knowing the family at all, and I didn’t want to intrude into their space since they didn’t know me. I think they took plenty of family photos! I’m sure that if I hadn’t been standing right next to his mom through all the excitement, she might have been in some of the photos I took too. She told me that she’d told Cody that morning that she’d be fine if he went ANYWHERE in the world except for Africa! I was glad to be standing with her when he opened the call because I served in Africa as a young missionary and LOVED it. We talked a long time about what it will be like for him. She is wonderful. The whole family was wonderful. I was happy we were able to look in on that exciting moment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

