Interviews in The Dalles

2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (20).JPGOur next stop was The Dalles, where we met with Zone Leaders, Elder Bonzo and Elder Watts.  They were both serving as missionaries here a year ago when our WYM began.  They have both returned and are happy to be serving here again.

Elder Watts and Elder Bonzo2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (17)Elder Watts:  to come

Elder Bonzo:  I actually understand what the gospel of Jesus Christ is.  Learning the Doctrine of Christ in the MTC changed me forever.  I had never put the pieces together.  I lived accidentally.  Now I have purpose–fully living the Doctrine of Christ.  I live intentionally.  The Church is my whole life.  I took Mission Prep, attended Seminary for 4 years, but I never really understood the Doctrine of Christ.  I’d read the scriptures, but I didn’t get much out of them.  We don’t teach 5 lessons here, we teach 1 lesson 5 different ways.  We teach Jesus Christ and his Atonement.  This has changed my life forever.  I want to live it.  I want to share what I’ve learned, to help others discover it.  (23 mos.)

2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (8)

Elder Burbank and Elder Quast2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (10)Elder Burbank:  I’m a lot harder worker.  Before I worked hard at basketball.  My desires have changed.  I was very worldly and prideful.  I am more righteous, I have better purposes, and a better vision for my future.  I used to sit in church on Sundays and check sports scores on my phone the whole time.  Now I listen.  I have more love for people and now I know better how to help them.  I’m more patient.  I like to talk to people more about them than about me.  We have a great Ward Mission Leader.  I want to be that kind of guy.   (1 yr.)

Elder Quast:  I’ve become more independent and self-sustaining.  I’m making more choices by myself and for myself.  (My mom used to buy all my groceries and do my laundry.)  Now I think and plan and budget my money.  I’m more comfortable talking to random people.  I can start a conversation with total strangers.  Change and transfers are a lot easier because I’ve done that before.  I’m learning to work with different people.  I’m so thankful for my parents.  (9.5 mos.)2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (13)

Elder Gaeta and Elder Wilde2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (14)Elder Gaeta:  My purpose has changed.  I came for my girlfriend. Now I’m here, preparing and getting to know God more and more day by day.  I can take something from each day.  I am learning to be obedient.  I’m deleting worldly music and learning to be happy on my own.  (5 mos.)

Elder Wilde:  Before I went to church, but I just went.  I always said it was true because I was told it was true.  I did it but I didn’t really care.  I did what I wanted to do–movies, music, I watched whatever.  I understand now why I am really here.  Studying helped me realize why I am really here, why this is so important.  This is the WHY of Everything.  Music has been big.  I’m learning to be patient and deal with stuff that happens.  I can get over things and move on.  I let go of anger more and move on.  I’m more positive and more patient.  (20.5 mos)

This humanitarian work was posted on the board and made me happy:2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (15)2016-7-26 Interviews The Dalles (16)

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

