Interviews in Wenatchee

2016-10-12-wenatchee-2This morning we were in Wenatchee, which is our home base for a few days this week.  We’ve being going and coming from here.  We met this happy bunch of Elders this morning in the Family History Center here.  This is where they come every P-day to email home.2016-10-12-wenatchee-3We have both English and Spanish missionaries in Wenatchee.  Today we met with the English half.  These missionaries are led by our Zone Leaders, Elder Call and Elder Aguirre.2016-10-12-wenatchee-10

Elder Coy and Elder Mayes2016-10-12-wenatchee-4Elder Coy:  My favorite conference theme was Home Teaching and teaching in general.  My goal is to have 100% home teaching for the rest of my life.  I also liked that President Monson talked about the Word of Wisdom.

Elder Mayes:  Conference was really good, a very spiritual opportunity.  I loved the faith of the Apostles.  The words they shared helped to build my faith.  I loved Pres. Uchtdorf’s talk Saturday morning best of all.

Elder Mochizuki and Elder Quast2016-10-12-wenatchee-13Elder Mochizuki:  I loved the simplicity of the gospel and the importance of small things.  I loved Pres. Uchtdorf on the Plan of Salvation.  It’s marvelous and we shouldn’t take it for granted.  They talked about praying for answers and discerning those answers.  I loved the focus on prayer and revelation and member missionary work.  It made me want to overcome inadequacies and be a better follower and a better leader.

Elder Quast:  I loved how Elder Anderson said we are not in control of others’ conversions or timing.  Our job is to keep helping and encouraging.  I thought the whole gospel was taught–all 42 of the principles we teach were covered.  I liked the visual of putting puzzle pieces together and how it all comes together.

Sister Averett and Sister Harty2016-10-12-wenatchee-15Sister Averett:  I loved Pres. Uchtdorf’s talk on faith and dilligence and what faith can do and what it can’t do.  I loved the talks on member missionary work.  They were inspired.  I also loved Sis. Oscarson on being sensitive and using common sense in standing up for our beliefs.  Feel Joy.  Be Happy.

Sis. Harty:  The talks all seemed to be about the Atonement bringing change, boosting self esteem, being disciples, the Doctrine of Christ, and mission work.  Also about not giving up.  I loved the Forth Floor, Last Door talk.

Elder Criddle and Elder Goodwin2016-10-12-wenatchee-20Elder Criddle:  My favorite 2 talks were Elder Cornish about “Am I good enough?” and comparing where you are to where you want to be and about others having faith in us and Elder Ballard about “Where else will you go?”  You will not find salvation anywhere else.

Elder Goodwin:  I loved the emphasis on JOY.  Keep the gospel simple, don’t overstep the mark, focus on the vital parts, continued progression, don’t get comfortable, keep going.

2016-10-12-wenatchee-212016-10-12-wenatchee-232016-10-12-wenatchee-32The Spanish missionaries were having a district lunch while we were interviewing.  We’ll visit with them tomorrow.2016-10-12-wenatchee-332016-10-12-wenatchee-34

Elder Allen and Elder Woodard2016-10-12-wenatchee-35Elder Allen:  The focus was on the Plan of Salvation, Testimony and staying strong.  The more we do, the stronger we get, and the more confidence we gain.  Our testimonies grow stronger.  I loved Elder Christensen on the Restoration and blessings because of Joseph Smith.  We can receive revelation because Jesus opened the way.  Don’t be shy to share the message.

Elder Woodard:  I loved Elder Bednar’s talk about knowing Christ and understanding who He is.  I want to apply that to my life.  Hold to the faith.

2016-10-12-wenatchee-402016-10-12-wenatchee-45

Elder Gaeta and Elder Miles (Spanish)2016-10-12-wenatchee-46Elder Gaeta:  This was my first ever General Conference.  I loved Elder Nelson’s talk about Joy.  Jesus focused on Joy.   The Atonement brings joy.   I liked the talk about being ambitious for Christ and seeking to know Him.   When God tells you revelation, you have to do it.  I liked the focus on the Book of Mormon and sharing the happiness.  Let the Savior be your caregiver.

Elder Miles:  I loved Elder Nelson’s talk about Joy best of all.  Jesus Christ is Joy.  I find that too.  I also loved Elder Uchtdorf’s opening talk Saturday.  Wow.  These men are called to receive inspiration for the Whole World, not just the Church.  Don’t miss the mark.  Focus on Jesus Christ.

Sister Hirsche and Sister Lowham2016-10-12-wenatchee-47Sister Hirsche:  I absolutely Loved conference.  The focus for me was on prayer.  We had an investigator there and she loved it.  I loved the talk on being ambitious for Christ and ways to share and love Him.

Sister Lowham:  Conference is different for me now–I’m more excited about it!  Our investigator came.  I took notes.  This is so important to help people.  I loved President Monson, Elder Cornish and the Japanese Elder’s talk on being ambitious for Christ.

Sister Trump and Sister Enman2016-10-12-wenatchee-48Sister Trump:  I loved all of it.  I received answers to my prayers.  I went in feeling like I’d walk away feeling like I have so much more to do.  That didn’t happen.  I listened and then came away feeling loved, motivated and uplifted.  I’m ready to conquer the world!  Gospel basics were taught and they are easy to understand.

Sister Enman:  The focus was on the Atonement.  You can’t go so far away that you’re lost.  Always always hope and there will be a way back.  The Plan of Salvation is specific for each of us.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

