Lunch is Served! Vegetable Marinara

img_1451One of my go-to meals is Veggie Marinara served over brown rice or pasta.  I make it often just to have on hand when we come home late and need a bite.  I made a pot full this morning and we had it for lunch.  The APs made me promise to post the recipe “for our wives someday.”  They loved it and ate quite a large volume of it.  It’s nothing too official, as far as a recipe goes, but I can explain how I make it.

Vegetable Marinara

Saute an onion in a bit of butter.  Add chopped celery, carrots, mushrooms, zucchini, yellow squash, sweet peppers (the small ones in a bag from Costco), and any old tomatoes from the garden.

Add a jar of marinara sauce (like Ragu)–whatever brand or flavor you like.

Add herbs (I harvest fresh basil, oregano and parsley from my garden in the summer, blend it in the blender with a bit of water, then freeze in small ziploc bags for use all winter long.)  Or you could just use dry Italian seasoning to taste with salt and pepper.  I also Love Mrs. Dash to season things.  Fresh parsley is always good if you have some.  I put a few shakes of dry red pepper in to give it a little zing.

Brown and add some hamburger or sausage, or go vegetarian.

Serve over pasta or brown rice or quinoa.  Delicious!  Top with Parmesan cheese.

img_1452

This sustained us through a full day of transfer planning!img_1457Our bath room with a view!img_1459

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Mission Recipes, Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

