The eagles have landed! Eagle Watch 28 January 2017, The Dalles Dam

2017-1-27-eagle-watch-td-1I always have my eyes peeled for birds as we drive.  There are so many amazing birds here in Washington.  I’ve seen hundreds and hundreds of hawks, too many flocks of Canadian Geese to count, Ospreys, Great Blue Herons, Cranes, and White Pelicans.  Today in the 30 minutes or so that we drove along the Columbia River on our way to The Dalles for Interviews, I spotted FIVE Bald Eagles.  I was Thrilled.  In the 1.5 years we’ve been here, I’ve only spotted 8 Eagles.  Then as we left The Dalles for Hood River, I spotted 2 more Bald Eagles, a male and a female in flight!  Imagine seeing Seven Bald Eagles in less than an hour!  I was So Excited.

When I told the missionaries about it, one of them mentioned that he had noticed a poster at a burger place about an Eagle Watch.  I quickly checked online and found this information:

Every year bald eagles congregate along the Columbia River in search of food during their winter migration. The Dalles Dam Visitor Center is a popular site for visitors to see bald eagles in their natural habitat. Join park rangers for the seventh annual Eagle Watch, Jan. 28, 2017, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. The Corps and partners from the U.S. Forest Service and the Rowena Wildlife Clinic will host a variety of fun activities for all ages, including a live raptor show inside the visitor center. Bring binoculars or a camera with a telephoto lens for the best viewing experience.

This event is free and the site is accessible to visitors with disabilities.
Questions: (541) 506-7857

Here are a few pictures that I did not take to give you an idea of how exciting this is:2017-1-27-eagle-watch-td-dam2017-1-27-eagle-watch-td-32017-1-27-eagle-watch-td 2017-1-27-eagle-watch-td-4Eagels winter at The Dalles Dam2017-1-27-eagle-watch-td-62017-1-27-eagle-watch-td-7

 

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in About Places in our Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

