Wildlife Watch

2017-2-23-zzbald-eagle

Today was a good day for watching for wildlife here in Washington.  As we headed north to Wenatchee this morning, I sighted a Bald Eagle in a field that looked like the one in the photo above.  (I didn’t take any of these photos because we don’t have time to stop the car, but these are pretty close to what I saw as we drove).  This was the 16th Bald Eagle I’ve spotted since we’ve been here.

As we drive by many waterways and through farmlands, I keep my eyes peeled.  Today I saw a Great Blue Heron like this one:2017-2-23-zzblue-heron

There are also dozens of varieties of ducks on the rivers and waterways.  I’m always worrying about them, standing barefoot on the ice and snow and in the freezing cold water.  How do they not freeze???  I’m going to ask about that when I get to heaven.

There are many flocks of Canadian Geese, on the lakes and in the air, flying in formation.2017-2-23-zzcanadian-geese-12017-2-23-zzcanadian-geese-2

There are always 100s of hawks, perched on fence posts and in trees, watching for mice and other rodents to scurry out of their holes onto the snow.  I don’t count the hawks because there are so many.  I sometimes try to always have a hawk in sight, and often they are that close together.  Usually I see one every 2-5 minutes as we drive.  There are several kinds, I don’t know their names yet.  Most are large, brown, ruffled feathers with a light-colored breast.  Some are smaller with lighter feathers.  They all sit like sentinels, watching for any small movement.  I think most of the ones I spot are Red-Tailed Hawks like this one:

2017-2-23-zzred-tailed-hawk

Today I’m pretty sure I saw 3 Golden Eagles in one big tree.  They were way too big to be hawks.  They looked like this one:

2017-2-23-zzgolden-eagle

To top off the bird watching, as we came home this evening, we saw these travel warnings as we came to Vantage and drove through Ryegrass:2017-2-23-zzelk-travel-alert-12017-2-23-zzelk-travel-alert-2Here’s what is posted this week online:

2017-2-23-zzelk-travel-alertHere’s a photo someone took of the Elk crossing the median where we traveled.2017-2-23-zzelk-by-roadWe saw them on the hillsides as we passed by, looking like this:2017-2-23-zzelk-by-road-1

Washington is a pretty great state.  Travel is always interesting.  It’s nice to be here.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in About Places in our Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

