Yakima and Selah Stakes Single Adult Fireside

Tonight we spoke at a Fireside in Selah.  It was fun to make more friends there.  Below are some of my  notes.  They wanted to hear our story about being older and single for a long time before we found each other and finally got married.2017-3-19 zSingle Adult Fireside.JPG

#1. Be Interesting
If you are interesting, others will be interested in you.
If you are not interesting, change now.
Do interesting things.
Read interesting books.
Meet interesting people.
Go interesting places.
Become an interesting person.

What are some things you are doing that are interesting?
Write down 5 things.
If you can’t think of 5 things, figure out what you’ll do to fix that.

#2. Be Available
Get out of your man caves.
Step away from the computer screen.
Don’t sit alone in front of the TV.
Meet people in person. Go places where you can meet new people.
Write down 5 places you can go to meet people.
Get outside. Be visible. (Like missionaries!)
Circulate, socialize, go where people are, make friends.
Be open. Be approachable. Look clean and respectable. Smile.
Be welcoming and friendly. Be kind.
Be available.

#3. Be Patient
We cannot always control what happens when in our lives. Sometimes there is a greater plan for your life than you can see from your own perspective.
Be patient and trust. If you are true to yourself (interesting) and in the right places at the right times (available), leave the rest to God.
Trust in His timing for your life.
Trust that in God’s way, things UNFOLD. They usually don’t POOF.
Life is a process. Let things Unfold in His way and in His time.
Be Patient.

 

WAITING

Serene, I fold my hands and wait,
Nor care for wind, or tide, or sea;
I rave no more ‘gainst Time or Fate,
For, lo! my own shall come to me.

I stay my haste, I make delays,
For what avails this eager pace?
I stand amid the eternal ways,
And what is mine shall know my face.

Asleep, awake, by night or day,
The friends I seek are seeking me,
No wind can drive my bark astray,
Nor change the tide of destiny.

What matter if I stand alone?
I wait with joy the coming years;
My heart shall reap where it has sown,
And garner up its fruits of tears.

The waters know their own and draw
The brook that springs in yonder height;
So flows the good with equal law
Unto the soul of pure delight. . . .

The stars come nightly to the sky;
The tidal wave unto the sea;
Nor time, nor space, nor deep, nor height;
Can keep my own away from me.

-John Burroughs

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Insights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

