Interviews with the Yakima Valley Spanish Zone

2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (2)Hurrah for Israel today in Yakima with our Spanish speakers!  We had a very long full day with these good missionaries, 17 in all.  It’s exhausting in a good sort of way.  Pres Lewis is the one you want to talk to if you have issues or concerns.  He can help you figure things out.  While he’s interviewing, I continue “visiting” with each companion.  This time we are talking about being LIKEABLE and “more fit for the kingdom, more used would I be” (from the hymn, More Holiness Give Me).  You’ll be excited to see and share the handouts when I post them.

These handsome Elders are Even More Handsome, now that their white shirts stay tucked in All The Time.  They were so excited to show me their new Sock to Shirt Garters purchased at the local Men’s Warehouse.  Elder  Nelson discovered these.  They clip on to their shirts in 4 places to keep them nicely tucked into their pants.  They were pretty excited.  Reminded me of my mothers girdles and hose before panty hose was invented!2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (3)Today’s schedule before we got hours behind:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (4)Greeting the Elders at the top of the day:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (5)Elder Wunderlich and Elder Favilla, serving as Zone Leaders in the Yakima Valley Zone, Englewood Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (8)Elder Wunderlich:  I suppose people would say the most likeable thing about me is that I’m genuine.   Elder Favilla is a consistently happy person.  He always smiles and is honest with his feelings.

Elder Favilla:  I am usually smiling and laughing about the little things.   Elder Wunderlich is always animated and goofy about things!  If you get him on a topic he likes, he’s all for it and loves to talk about it.  He’s also good at beat-boxing in the car.2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (9)Elder Blake and Elder Nielson, serving in the Yakima Valley East area, Englewood Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (10)Elder Blake:  the nicest thing about me?  my not receding hairline.  (“I NEVER think about those things.”   Elder Nielson is always generous with his stuff.  He shares.  He’s not possessive.  He doesn’t hold grudges.

Elder Nielson:  I’m always ready to joke around and have fun.  Elder Blake is really humble.  He’s not fake humble.  He’s genuine.  He’s confident, but not proud.  He also likes to joke around.

Elder Davis and Elder Nelson, serving in the Selah Nachees area, Englewood Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (11)Elder Davis:  I listen to others.   Elder Nelson always puts others first.  He’s never negative about anyone’s ideas.

Elder Nelson:  I am understanding.  Elder Davis is very funny and very positive.

2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (14)2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (16)Hermana Dungan and Hermana Andrews, serving in the Yakima Central area, Englewood Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (18)Hermana Dungan:  Sis Lewis says I’m genuine, warm and good and like a big sister to all the other sisters.   Hna Andrews is always genuine, kind and caring.

Hermana Andrews:  I am willing to listen.  I may not now what advice to give, but I will listen to you.   Hna Dungan pays attention to the unspoken needs of others.

Elder Amat and his new Ecuadorian flag:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (21)Elder Amat and Elder Nunez, serving in the Yakima Valley Terrace Heights Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (24)Elder Amat:  people like my youthful spirit.   Elder Nunez is very diligent and supportive. He jokes around (in Mexican ways) and really understands the Mexican culture.

Elder Nunez:  People would say I’m helpful, kind sometimes, and I know when to joke around if the situation needs it.   Elder Amat is funny.  He’s authentic.  He’s himself.  He has a lot of energy.

The Englewood chapel:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (1)and the floor plan of this building:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (25)Signing a souvenir flag:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (27)Patiently waiting for his turn, Elder Sanchez studies:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (28)2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (29)Re-scheduling dinner appointments.  We are way behind.2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (30)Hermana Powell and Hermana Robinson, serving in the Yakima Valley Moxee / Terrace Heights Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (33)Hermana Powell:  I think people notice my enthusiasm.  I have a lot of energy and like to channel it to others.   Hna Robinson is super genuine.  She takes time to understand things.  She doesn’t assume things.  She 100% cares.

Hermana Robinson:  I’m positive and I like to smile.  Hna Powell is very emotionally involved with those we meet.  She overflows with emotion and connects emotionally with people.

Hermana Young, Hermana Hull and Hermana Pinckard, serving in the Yakima Valley North Spanish, Englewood Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (39)Hermana Young:  I’ll talk to anyone and help them feel loved.   Hna Hull loves EVERYONE endlessly, wants the best for everyone and makes everyone feel like family.   Hna Pinckard jumps right into every new situation with a smile.  She finds small ways to serve others and she’s a hard worker!

Hermana Hull:  I am funny and hilarious.  lol.  idk.   Hna Young is ALWAYS fun and happy.  Hna Pinckard has Spunk!  She is so real.

Hermana Pinckard:  I’ve always got a smile.  Hna Young will do anything to care and serve anyone she comes in contact with.  Hna Hull can always brighten someone’s day if they’re down.

Elder Sanchez and Elder Beaumont, serving in the Yakima Valley South, Terrace Heights Branch2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (40)Elder Sanchez:  I have spontaneous facial expressions and reactions and I enjoy music. Elder Beaumont takes time explaining things and is patient when he teaches to make sure everyone understands.

Elder Beaumont:  I am friendly.  I try to include everyone and not be judgmental.   Elder Sanches is very caring and always interested in what people say.  He asks very good questions and wants to know them better.  2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (41)Great haircut!2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (42)Elder Sanchez’s combo Spanish-English Preach My Gospel!2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (43)Farewells:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (44)2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (46)Dropping the Elders off with a member in their area.2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (48)Heading to a lesson:2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (49)2017-5-17 Interviews Yak Valley SP (50)It’s going to be a great evening.  We have such amazing missionaries.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

