Interviews in Toppenish

2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (1)It’s Friday and today we greeted by these Elders in Toppenish!  We call this part of the Mission the Lower Valley.  The Spanish-speaking missionaries are part of the Yakima Valley Zone and the English-speaking are part of the Yakima Zone.2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (2)Our mission car:2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (3)Elder Dalton and Elder Ackerman, serving in the Yakima Zone, in the Zillah Ward2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (5)Elder Dalton:  People would say that the most likeable things about me are my smile, how I listen, and that I care about them.  I like to look people in the eye and try to read their body language.   Elder Ackerman listens really well.  When he laughs, other people laugh too.

Elder Ackerman:  I actively listen to people by paying attention to what they say.  Elder Dalton is honest and good at asking questions.

Notes to moms:2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (6)2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (8)Elder Ramirez and Elder Woodfield, serving in the Yakima Valley Zone, Toppenish East area2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (10)Elder Ramirez:  people would say I’m “Chill.”  I am not quick to offend.  I’m tolerant and I go with the flow.   Elder Woodfield is steady and consistent, a pillar personality, and he is always there for you.  We love working together.

Elder Woodfield:  I do not teach people things they already know.  I learn about them first rather than having an agenda.  I try to make them more important than what I think needs to be done.    Elder Ramirez is naturally funny.  In conversations, funny things jut come out.  He doesn’t try to be funny, he just is.  He’s really good at communicating ane connecting with people.2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (12)

Elder DeBry and Elder Anderson, serving in the Yakima Valley, Toppenish West area2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (14)Elder DeBry:  I’m the type of person that is genuine, calm and engaging.  (“Chill.”)   Elder Anderson really tries to show his interest and he really cares about others through his thoughts and feelings.

Elder Anderson:  I can relate to people and understand their needs.  I’m a peacemaker.  Elder DeBry is charismatic.  He’s an amazing listener–he allows pauses in conversations.  He’s patient and an awesome teacher who allows the Spirit to teach.  For him, that’s super natural.2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (16)2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (17)2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (18)2017-5-19 Interviews Toppenish, Sunnyside (19)Next stop:  Sunnyside!

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

