Interviews in Toppenish

2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (1)Our last interview stop today was in Toppenish with the 6 Elders serving here and in Zillah.

Elder Goodwin and Elder Dalton serving in Zillah2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (2)Elder Goodwin:  I love the blessings of a mission–we do lots of service here.  It’s a new place to me, but not unfamiliar.  I love the people.  Behind every door is a different personality.  I love that the weather is 90 degrees, not 120!

Elder Dalton:  I love the people–they are down to earth farmers and they tell fun stories.  I love the scenery–the orchards and all the different fruits.  It makes me happy because I know this is where I needed to be.  I’ve learned a lot about life here, and what I want to get out of it.2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (6)

Elder DeBry and Elder Anderson, serving in the Toppenish West area2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (7)Elder DeBry:  I love the unique people with interesting backgrounds, stories, cultures.  I love working with Hispanics and Native Americans here.  I love the memories I’m making and the miracles we see every day–the tender mercies.  I love the agriculture and the fruit!  Ranier cherries are my favorite.  I also love the people behind the fruit.  They work so hard.  I don’t like smelling the hops, but I LOVE smelling the peppermint fields at night.

Elder Anderson:  I love the fresh fruit–all of it.  My favorite apples are Honeycrisp.  I love the variety and different types of people here.  I love the 1st generation Hispanics and the 2nd generation Hispanic/Americans.  There are farmers and ranchers and humble hard workers.  I love the smell of the fields, especially the peppermint in the evenings.

Elder Anderson and Elder DeBry are teaching about 30 people right now.  They are amazing.2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (9)2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (12)

Elder Woodfield and Elder Ramirez, serving in the Toppenish East area2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (14)Elder Woodfield:  I love missionary work, every day, all day.  I really love teaching investigators and getting to know people I wouldn’t know otherwise.  I love the fruit.  It’s better here than anywhere else I’ve ever had it.  Peaches and apricots are my favorites. And the cherries.  I’d never eaten a cherry before!  I love the nice weather here and the changing seasons.  Spring is my favorite.  My home in Texas is only hot or cold.

Elder Ramirez:  I love meeting the funny people in the different wards.  It’s a lot like home (here) as far as geography goes.  I love the areas with high Mexican populations and the Mexican food here.  Tortas are my favorite.

Here are the scriptures Elder Woodfield is memorizing:2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (16)Our Toppenish building:2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (17)2017-7-11 Interviews in Toppenish (18)

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

