Interviews begin in Yakima!

Well, it’s that time again –we started interviews this morning here in Yakima.  We will have a schedule that is a bit convoluted this time, with 13 going home Aug 8 for school (they will have their departing interviews), and Mini Missions happening throughout the mission (we don’t want to interrupt them), and the rest needing regular interviews.  That means we’ll be visiting many areas multiple times, so sit tight and if you don’t see your missionary’s photo when you expect to, just hang on to your seats!

2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (1)Notes to Moms.2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (5)

My question for the missionaries this time is “What are the best skills you have learned as a missionary?”  And then I’m asking them for the first line of a scripture they are memorizing.  When Elder Anderson in June, he asked the missionaries to memorize 10 scriptures from the New Testament and 10 from the Book of Mormon.  They are busy at that now.

Here are our Yakima Valley Zone Leaders, Elder Tapia, Elder Bown and Elder Favila, serving in the Yakima East Spanish area.2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (8)Elder Tapia:  I’ve learned to prepare a training or a talk, I’ve learned to talk to everyone, and I’ve learned to teach the Gospel with the Spirit.  I’m memorizing:  “But I say unto you:  love your enemies, bless them that curse you , do good to them that hate you and pray for them which despitefully use you and persecute you. (Matthew 5:44)

Elder Bown:  I’ve learned to do daily and weekly planning.  I’ve learned to have daily prayer to help me feel the Spirit during each day.  I’ve learned sewing skills.  I’m memorizing:  “Ye are the light of the world. . .”  (Matthew 5:14)

Elder Favila:  I’ve learned to how smile for long periods of time.  I’ve learned to speak better in public, and I’ve learned how to make amazing morning smoothies.  I’m memorizing:  “Take no thought . . . for your Heavenly Father knoweth ye have need of all these things.” (Matthew 6:32)   Elder Favila will be heading home next week.  Sad.

Elder Peterson and Elder Miwa, serving in the Yakima Meadowbrook Ward2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (9)Elder Peterson:  I’ve learned to be bold, more outgoing and I’ve learned to follow the Spirit.  I’m memorizing:  “For the spirit beareth witness with our spirit that we are the children of God.  (Romans 8:16)

Elder Miwa:  I’m learning to love people, to have genuine prayers and to trust the Savior.  I’m memorizing:  “Look unto me in every thought, doubt not, fear not.” (D&C 6:36)

Elder Hoogland and Elder Horsley, serving in the Yakima Valley Zone, Yak Gap Spanish area2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (10)Elder Hoogland:  The best skills I’ve learned are: Talking to people (having engaging conversations), Living with others and serving them, and how to study and ponder the scriptures.  I’m memorizing:  “He aqui yo soy Jesucristo, de quien los profetas testificaron que vendria al mundo.” (3 Nefi 11:10-11)

Elder Horsley:  I’ve learned hard work when you don’t want to, diligence when it’s easy to give up and charity for people I don’t know.  I’m memorizing:  “E Iba guiado pur El Espiritu sin saber de ante mano lo que tendria que hacer.”  (1 Nefi 4:6)

2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (11)

Afterwards we dropped by the office and bumped into these Sisters who had their cute Mini Missionary with them!2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (18)2017-8-2 Interviews Yakima (20)

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

