More Interviews with Yakima Valley

2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (1)Here are our Yakima Valley Spanish Zone Leaders, Elder Tapia and Elder Bown.  They dropped by this morning to open the building and get things going for us.  Then more interviews continued here with these excellent Spanish-speaking missionaries.  They really are fabulous!

Hermana Robinson and Hermana Green, serving in the Moxee and Terrace Heights Spanish Branch2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (2)Hna Robinson:  I’ve learned how to talk to people and be more outgoing.  I used to be quiet and shy.  I’ve learned how to study the Book of Mormon and apply it in my life.  I’ve also leaned how to manage my time and always be productive.  The scripture I’m memorizing is Helaman 5:12: “And now, my sons, remember remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer who is Christ, the son of God, donde debeis establecer vuestro fundamento.  Para que cuando el diablo lanza sus impetuosor vientos, si susdardos en el torbellino, esto no tenga poder para appastraros. . .”

Hna Green: I’ve learned to pray in Spanish.  I’m getting better at journaling.  And I’m learning how to memorize scriptures.  I’m memorizing Santiago 1:5:  “Y si alguno de vosotros tiene falta de sabiduria.”

Elder Olivas and Elder Walters, serving in the Yakima South area (Englewood Rama)2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (8)Elder Olivas:  I’ve gained confidence in speaking.  I’ve learned how to study more effectively, and I’ve writing in my journal.  I’m memorizing Mosiah 2:41:  “Y ademas quisiera que consideraseis el bendito y feliz estado de aquellos que guardan los mandamientos de Dios.”

Elder Walters:  I’ve learned how to study well.  I’ve learned how to bring the Spirit into a conversation.  I’ve learned how to be positive and look for the good.  I’m memorizing Mosiah 4:9-12:  “Believe in God, believe that he is, and  that he hath created all things both in heaven and in earth. . . .”

Elder Walters and Elder Olivas showed me how they memorize scriptures:2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (7)

2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (6)2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (10)2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (11)More Elders dropping by:2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (12)

Hermana Bangerter and Hermana Cluff, serving in the Yakima Central Spanish area2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (14)Hna Bangerter:  I’ve learned how to talk to people and love them.  I’ve learned how to connect anything and everything to the Gospel.  I’ve also leaned to focus on hope and joy despite hardships and struggles.  I’m memorizing Luke 22:32: “Behold I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not, and when thou art converted, strengthen thy brethren.”

Hna Cluff:  I’ve learned to set life goals and work to achieve them.  I’m being bolder while still being loving.  I’m learned to work/live with others who think or work differently.  I’m memorizing 3 Nephi 11:10: “Por tanto, Yo soy Jesucristo, de quien los profetas testificaron que vendria al mundo.”2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (17)Hermana Bangerter’s PMG notes and scriptures she’s memorizing:2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (15)2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (18)

Hermana Pinckard and Hermana Tolliver, serving in the Yakima North Spanish area2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (20)Hna Pinckard:  I’ve learned to teach people about the gospel, to love and work with people, and I’ve learned to stretch myself and learn what my limits are.  I’m memorizing Alma 36:27:  “. . . and I have been supported under trials and troubles of every kind. . .”

Hna Tolliver:  I’m learning to make love a natural first choice.  I’m following the Spirit, even when I don’t know it.  I’m trying new things–like foods, sport activities and talking to strangers.  I’m memorizing 1 Nephi 17:50: “And I said unto them, if God had commanded me that I should do all things, I could do them. . . ”

2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (22)

Elder Veropalumbo and Elder Davis, serving in the Selah/Naches areas2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (25)Elder Veropalumbo:  Skills I’ve learned as a missionary include asking questions, following impressions of the Holy Ghost and talking about the Gospel.  I’m memorizing 2 Corinthians 12:9-10: “Y me ha dicho:  Te basta me gracia.”

Elder Davis:  I’ve learned to plan ahead, to have more meaningful prayer and to talk to anyone.   I’m memorizing Matthew 12:45-46: “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven is like a merchant man, seeing a goodly pearl . . . ”

Pres Lewis finishing up for today.  He’s been a bit sick this week.2017-8-11 Interviews Yak Valley (26)

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

