Interviews with more of the Selah Zone

Saturday in started in Selah with the following interviews.  I continue to ask each about the best skills they’ve learned as a missionary.  They are also telling me which scripture they are memorizing right now.  These are fine missionaries.  They bless lives wherever they go.2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (1)Elder Vejnar and Elder Black, Zone Leaders serving in the Selah 1st Ward2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (3)Elder Vejnar:  I’ve learned to talk with people I don’t know.  I’ve learned how to work with a companion I have never known before we met.  I’ve learned how to better study the scriptures and get more out of them.  I’m memorizing 1 Nephi 1:  “I Nephi, having been born of goodly parents. . . .”

Elder Black:  I’ve learned how to receive revelation when I study, how to follow the Spirit in my daily life, and how to eat healthier.  I’m memorizing 1 Nephi 1:12:  “Ad he read, he was filled with the Spirit of the Lord.”

Sister Rose and Sister Banks, serving in the Yakima 2nd Ward2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (4)Sister Rose:  I’ve learned Humility–it allows us to be teachable.  I am being able to recognize where I need to change, and I am making changes.  I’m learning patience is a virtue and necessary for missionary work.   I’m memorizing D&C 4:  “Now behold, a marvelous work is about to come forth among the children of men . . . ”

Sister Banks:  I’ve learned how to communicate with people, how to truly work  hard, and how to truly LOVE people unconditionally and without judgement.  I’m memorizing 2 Nephi 2:31:18:  “. . . Press forward with a steadfastness in Christ. . . ”

Sister Lowham and Sister Hannah, serving in the Selah 2nd Ward2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (5)SisterLowham:  I’ve learned to speak boldly, to always choose charity, and to laugh about everything (when things go wrong, or when we meet not nice people).  I’m memorizing Alma 26:27:  “When our hearts are depressed and they were about to turn back, behold the Lord comforted us . . . and he will give thee success.”

Sister Hannah:  I’m learning to focus my studies.  I’m learning it’s important to drink lots of water.  And I’m learning to be positive in bad times.  I’m memorizing Moroni 10:3-5:  “Behold I would exhort you that when ye shall read these things, if it be wisdom in God that ye should read these things, . . . ye may know the truth of all things.”

2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (12)

Sister Zollinger and Sister McCourt, serving in the Terrace Heights 1st Ward2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (14)Sister Zollinger:  I’m learning to teach clearly and simply.  I’m learning not to be afraid to testify boldly.  I’m learning to teach people, not lessons.  I’m memorizing Joseph Smith’s First Vision from JSH 1:16:  “I saw a pillar of light, exactly over my head above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me. . . .”

Sister McCourt:  I’ve learned public speaking skills, how to discern others’ needs, and patience–with people and their actions, and by not judging or jumping to conclusions.  I’m memorizing Ether 12:27: “And if men come unto me, I will show unto them their weakness.  I give unto men weakness that they may be humble . . . ”

2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (16)Elder Hamblin, Elder Oliverson and Elder Hunt, serving in the Yakima 3rd Ward and the Naches Ward2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (19)Elder Hamblin:  I’ve learned to talk to people, to study the scriptures and how to be self-sufficient (cooking, cleaning budgeting).  I’m memorizing Mosiah 3:17:  “and moreover, I say unto you, there shall be no other name given nor any other way nor means whereby salvation can come unto the children of men, only in and through the name of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent.”

Elder Oliverson:  I’ve learned to talk to people, how to come out and open up, helping them to open up too.  I’ve learned to work with others, even those with different personalities.  I’ve learned to set goals and achieve them.  I’m working on getting up on time.  I’m memorizing 2 Nephi 11:7: “For if there be no Christ there be no God; and if there be no God we are not, for there could have been no creation. But there is a God, and he is Christ, and he cometh in the fulness of his own time.”

Elder Hunt’s comments are in his interview last week.  He’s joined this companionship after Elder Saitman went home with the last group.  This tri-pan has their own symbol, which stands for 2 H’s and an O, or H2O (Hamblin, Hunt and Oliverson)!2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (20)The Brookies have all been eaten. . . .2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (23)2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (24)

Here’s a map of the Selah Stake Center:2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (25)And here’s what these Elders are having for lunch:2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (26)Caesar salad, chicken and rice, and pizza! 2017-8-12 Interviews Selah (27)

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

