Interviews Begin in Moses Lake

We were up early and on our way to Moses Lake on this cold wet morning. We are beginning INTERVIEWS!  With the new directive from the Missionary Department, we are to conduct interviews Every Transfer now.  We used to alternate interviews with Zone Conferences, doing one in one transfer, and the other in the next.

We’re not sure how to fit everything into a 6 week transfer now, but we will try.We have a lot of ground to cover in this large mission.  Today we headed north on icy roads, but found sun in Moses Lake.

Elders Poloncic and Moser are our Moses Lake Zone Leaders.  They greeted us and handed us the schedule for the day.  20 missionaries.  20 interviews.  Pres. Lewis is trying really hard to cut the visiting time down to about 20 min/missionary so we can keep to the new schedule.   He loves to visit and counsel with each missionary.

I visit with each companion while Pres. Lewis interviews.  This time I’m asking each about their New Year’s Resolutions, having them respond to:  1. Something I want to do; and 2. Something I want to become.

Elder Poloncic and Elder Moser2016-12-20-interviews-ml-3Elder Poloncic:  Something I want to do:  I want to open my mouth at every opportunity to share the teachings of Jesus Christ.  Something I want to become:  A disciple of Jesus Christ.

Elder Moser:  Something I want to do:  I want to stop complaining and start complimenting more.  I want to be more positive.  Something I want to become:  A friend to everyone!

Elder Blake and Elder Veropalumbo2016-12-20-interviews-ml-5Elder Blake:  Something I want to do:  Consecrate my life.  Be exactly obedient in everything.  Something I want to become:  A great missionary.

Elder Veropalumbo:  Something I want to do:  Show people how the gospel can bless their lives for eternity.  Something I want to be:  I want to be a missionary that has unshakable faith like Captain Moroni.

As we were interviewing, some of the missionaries were in a special training in the Family History Center, learning how to help and teach others to do Family History work.2016-12-20-interviews-ml-62016-12-20-interviews-ml-72016-12-20-interviews-ml-82016-12-20-interviews-ml-9

Elder Dalton and Elder Goodwin2016-12-20-interviews-ml-14Elder Dalton:  Something I would like to do:  Be what I need to be–loving, caring, kind, understanding, patient, happy, fun.  Something I want to become:  When I return home I want to become a caring , loving, supportive & gospel-centered husband and father.

Elder Goodwin:  Something I want to do:  Invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored Gospel through faith in Jesus Christ, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.  I other words, fulfill my purpose.  Something I want to become:  A consecrated missionary.

Elder Camit and Elder Mayes2016-12-20-interviews-ml-18Elder Camit:  Something I want to do:  Be good at giving good, actual, realistic but spirit-led commitments.  Something I want to become:  Someone who doesn’t overthink details–kind of like Carpe Diem type of thing.

Elder Mayes:  Something I want to do:  Exercise more.  Read through the New Testament, Book of Mormon and D&C.  Something I want to become:  An effective conduit of the Spirit.  A stronger disciple of Jesus Christ.  An exactly obedient missionary.

2016-12-20-interviews-ml-20

Elder Putnam and Elder Tietjen2016-12-20-interviews-ml-25Elder Putnam:  Something I want to do:  Be exactly obedient.  Something I want to become:  A returned missionary.

Elder Tietjen:  Something I want to do:  go to BYU.  Something I want to become:  A consecrated disciple of Christ who puts God first.

Sister Atkinson and Sister Mork2016-12-20-interviews-ml-29Sister Atkinson:  Something I want to do:  Be happy and have fun and make the most of every situation.  Something I want to become:  Someone who looks for the positive in all things.

Sister Mork:  Something I want to do:  More fully give my will to the Lord and make sure that I am loving people for real.  More charity, genuine charity.  Something I want to become:  I want to be truly kind and loving to all people and develop the character of Christ.

2016-12-20-interviews-ml-302016-12-20-interviews-ml-33

Hermana Faulk and Hermana Petersen2016-12-20-interviews-ml-35Hermana Faulk:  Something I want to do:  Finish reading the Book of Mormon before July.  Something I want to become:  More dedicated and diligent to serving the Lord.

Hermana Petersen:  Something I want to do:  Talk to everyone!  Help my companion ease her burdens.  Something I want to become:  A disciple of Christ that He can trust.

Elder Nunez, faithful District Leader:2016-12-20-interviews-ml-38

Elder Olivas and Elder Nunez2016-12-20-interviews-ml-39Elder Olivas:  Something I want to do:  I want to keep my Savior Jesus Christ in my mind more often.  Something I want to become:  I want to become a successful missionary by being diligent and consecrated.

Elder Nunez:  Something I want to do:  be a diligent missionary.  Something I want to become:  I want to be available to recognize my potential.

Sister Averett and Sister Smith2016-12-20-interviews-ml-19Sister Averett:  Something I want to do:  Read the New Testament and study the life of the Savior and become more like Him.  Something I want to become:  I want to become more diligent and discover how I can more fully submit / surrender to the will of the Father.

Sister Smith:  Something I want to do:  Find and teach a FAMILY!  Something I want to become:  A good & faithful servant of the Lord.

About annlaemmlenlewis

I am member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am currently serving as a Missionary in the Washington Yakima Mission. Welcome to my personal blog, Ann's Words, and my Mission blog, Our Yakima Mission. If you are interested in family history stories and histories, you can find those posted in Ann's Stories. Thanks for looking in!
This entry was posted in Missionary Work in the Yakima Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

